Scorpion Open 2014 @ Hayling Island


12 enthusiastic Scorpion teams arrived at a new location on the Scorpion Circuit and round 2 in this years Silver Scorpion Series Sponsored by North Sails & Noble Marine. Joined by the Merlin Rockets and Fireballs at a club that plenty came away with a serious bout of club envy. With a clubhouse straight from Grand Designs, and a booming sea on the shore side of the island Рmost were relieved to find we were to be raced inside the harbour. Once the fat boys sighs and snivels had died down, conditions were fruity in the harbour with a sucking tide to boot.


On the way to the start Helena Pugh & Catherine Maguire (20?? Poole) fell foul of a hidden sand bank on the dropping tide and damaging their rudder, saw them putting the boat to bed and having to sit the Saturday out. However as always still smiling.

Straight out in front in R1 were McKee & Massey (2026 Dovestone SC) to take the gun, followed by other hardy winter souls Pete Gray and Rich Peperdeu (2022 Staunton Harold) and Nev Herbert and Rachel Rhodes (2004 Staunton Harold).

McKee & Massey again showed a clean transom in R2 (on the ever shrinking sail area), followed home this time by Tim Parsons & Mike Hannan (2014 Lyme Regis) and race tuned Ryan Buchanan & Hannah Buchanan (2028 Weston). The scheduled procession around the harbour was binned, whilst a monster squall ripped though the ensuing triangle. With a few 3 sail reaches across the mud, only a few had read the course lap count. Top marks went to Pete Mitchell & Simon Forbes (2013 Hayling Island), followed by Alex (no gun) Hayman, & Andy Hayman (senior) (2021 Sidmouth). 3rd were Buchanan & Buchanan.

With the end of day one came news another breakage, this time Jo Mahy & Ian Dooley (1907 Rutland) in ‘Ethel’ having managed to break their boom and not being able to compete on the Sunday.

The top class facilities were enjoyed overnight, ready for another day. Again harbour bound , so sadly still starting last and sailing least, all fixed up Scorpions reassembled. Grey & Pepperdeu got going early and went (beaten by McKee & Massey on the water, but he was DSQ after a start line incident with Parsons & Hannan) followed by Buchanan & Buchanan, then Mitchel & Forbes.

With wind and chop building, disaster stuck for McKee & Massey having to dash back to shore to replace a shredded spinnaker, meaning they had to sit out R5.

Mitchel & Forbes took race 5 to take command of the event. Race 6 was taken by McKee & Massey again, with Parsons & Hannan 2nd, then Mitchel & Forbes to seal it in 3rd.

With only 10 points separating the top 5 over 5 Races, Racing was close with the Wintering Scorpions proving that hard work in the cold pays off in the cold spring.

Another performance to note was Ric Searle & Drew Jackson (2023 Warsash). Drew only crewing in a dinghy a handful of times before this event and never in anything much more than 10 Knots! Well Done


Thankyou to Hayling Island Sailing Club for the well run event, and hopefully a return for the Scorpions next year to go “outside”.


Rank SailNo HelmName CrewName Club R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 Total Nett
1st 2013 Pete Mitchell Simon Forbes HISC 4.0 (7.0) 1.0 3.0 1.0 3.0 19.0 12.0
2nd 2028 Ryan Buchanan Hannah Buchanan Weston 5.0 3.0 3.0 2.0 3.0 (8.0) 24.0 16.0
3rd 2014 Tim Parsons Mike Hannan Lyme Regis (6.0) 2.0 5.0 6.0 2.0 2.0 23.0 17.0
4th 2022 Peter Gray Rich Peperdeu SHSC 2.0 (10.0) 10.0 1.0 4.0 4.0 31.0 21.0
5th 2026 Andy McKee Chris Massey Dovestone SC 1.0 1.0 6.0 (13.0 DSQ) 13.0 DNC 1.0 35.0 22.0
6th 2004 Nev Herbert Rachal Rhodes Staunton Herald 3.0 4.0 (9.0) 5.0 7.0 5.0 33.0 24.0
7th 2024 Barry Wolfenden Linda Wolfenden Bough Beech (7.0) 6.0 4.0 4.0 5.0 6.0 32.0 25.0
8th 2021 Alex Hayman Andy Hayman Sidmouth 8.0 5.0 2.0 7.0 6.0 (13.0 DNC) 41.0 28.0
9th 2023 Richard Searle Drew Jackson Warsash SC (10.0) 9.0 8.0 8.0 8.0 7.0 50.0 40.0
10th 2005 Janet Ritchie Alan Ritchie Chipstead 9.0 8.0 7.0 (13.0 DNC) 13.0 DNC 13.0 DNC 63.0 50.0
11th 203 Helena Pugh Catherine Maguire Poole YC (13.0 DNC) 13.0 DNC 13.0 DNC 9.0 9.0 9.0 66.0 53.0
12th 1907 Joanne Mahy Ian Dooley Rutland SC 11.0 11.0 (13.0 DNC) 13.0 DNC 13.0 DNC 13.0 DNC 74.0 61.0



Mike Hannan

Mike Hannan


No comments!

There are no comments yet, but you can be first to comment this article.

Leave reply

Only registered users can comment.

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE