Scorpion Welsh Championship at Llandudno

 The 2018 Scorpion Welsh Championships were held at Llandudno Sailing Club in a 6 race 2 day format. Eleven Scorpions  from 7 different Clubs made the journey on the Saturday to be welcomed by bright skies but light breezes. These Light conditions made it difficult for the Race Team, but sailing started on time with 3 races in a ‘P’ Course format providing excellent sailing for all.

Race 1 early lead was taken by Pete Gray and Rachel Rhodes in 2039, showing excellent boat speed, Local boat 1947 with Rich Jones and Paul Newman also started well and pulled out big distances as they swept down the tide. The following lap saw 2033 (Steve Walker / Jerry Hannabuss)  go inshore  to avoid the tide, and take 2nd on the water behind 2039, with current National Champions Andy Mckee and Steve Graham  in  2042 taking 3rd.

Race 2 saw winds reducing slightly and once again it was 2039 who lead the fleet, this time the place changing behind saw Tim Hartley and Hannah Edge on 2023 making the most of the conditions taking 2nd following a battle with Mckee/ Graham.

Race 3 saw the wind swing further, unfortunately  turning the beats in fetches, but the top 3 were still the same as in race 2, with Pete/ Rachel making it 3 bullets, this time though 2042 took 2nd with 2023 in 3rd.

The evening entertainment was enjoyed by all with bar games and beer getting the competitors some good practice for the National Championships in Tenby later in the year.

Sunday saw a stronger breeze on the water ( although still light)  with forecasts of increased wind during the day. Race 4 saw Walker /Hannabuss  take an early lead on a triangle / sausage course format, but by round 2 Mckee/ Graham pulled past taking their 1st win of the meeting with 2039 taking 2nd from 2033 finishing 3rd.

Race 5 saw the breeze swing and freshen and this time is was 2042 that lead all the way, with 2039 chasing. 3rd place was eventually taken by Walker / Hannabuss, following close racing with Tim and Hannah in 2023  and Chris Massey and Ben Thackery in 2026.

With the event won, Pete and Rachel left the last race to the rest of the fleet, who enjoyed the best sailing of the weekend in the stronger winds allowing surfing on the downwind legs in bright sunshine. Final race victory went to 2033 ahead of 2023, confirming 3rd place overall from Mckee / Graham in overall 2nd.


1st 2039 Pete Gray / Rachel Rhodes  – Staunton Harold SC ( 7 points)

2nd 2042 AndyMckee/ Steve Graham – Dovestones SC ( 10 Points)

3rd 2033 Steve Walker/ Jerry Hannabuss –  Pennine SC ( 13 points)

4th 2023 Tim Hartley/Hannah Edge – Staunton Harold SC ( 15 points)


Photos Courtesy of Carl Jones

Malcolm James

South Cerney SC Gloucester GL7 5TH. Scorpions 2001 and 2011.